Thomas Truax set to stop by Belfast next month

thomastruaxThomas Truax will play at Lavery’s in Belfast on Wednesday 15th April 2015.

One of the most imaginative characters on the pop music fringe, for well over a decade Thomas has been releasing albums and travelling the world performing with his “band” of bizarre self-made Harry Partch-esque instruments including a motorized drum machine made of bike wheels called ‘Mother Superior’ and a pimped-up Dr. Seuss-ian Gramophone called ‘The Hornicator’ (as well as his venerable resonator guitar ‘Hank’).

On his eighth album Jetstream Sunset, he has added a powerhouse of a special ingredient in the form of Brian Viglione, the exceptional drummer best know as half of the Dresden Dolls, his work with Nine Inch Nails, and as the current drummer of the Violent Femmes.

‘Jetstream’ is a more mature, candid and somewhat less lyrically obtuse album than we’ve seen from past Truax. Notable Truax supporters include Jarvis Cocker, Duke Special, Amanda Palmer, all of whom with Thomas has toured and collaborated.

Thomas Truax will play Lavery’s in Belfast on 15th April 2015 ahead of the release of Jetstream Sunset on 20th April 2015 on Psychoteddy Records.

UK TOUR

26 March, Thurs: Guildford, Boilerroom
28 March, Sat: Bristol, Cube Cinema:
29 March, Sun: Brighton, Komedia
1 April, Wed: London, The Lexington
4 April, Sat: Exeter, Cavern Club
5 April, Sun: Cardiff, Wales Goes Pop! Festival – Loose @ The Gate
9 April, Thurs: Manchester, Gullivers
10 April Fri: Blackpool, UK, Other Worlds Festival
11 April Sat: Sheffield, South Seas
12 April, Sun: Newcastle; The Mining Institute, (Library) Neville Hall
15 April, Wed: Belfast, Lavery’s
16 April, Thurs: Clonakilty, West Cork, Ireland
17 April, Fri: Dublin, Workman’s Club
24 Apr, Fri: SOUTHAMPTON Talking Heads (Supporting Duke Special)
25 Apr, Sat: READING Bowery District (Supporting Duke Special)
26 Apr, Sun: CARDIFF The Globe (Supporting Duke Special)
1 May, Fri: Northampton, Labour Club
2 May, Sat: Oxford, Cellar Bar
6 May, Wed: Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
8 May, Fri: Hull, The New Adelphi Club
16 May, Sat: Wood Festival, Braziers Park, near Wallingford, Oxfordshire