14 Jul, Tuesday
14° C

Meteor Choice Music Prize Nominees

The Meteor Choice Music Prize, an organisation established to encourage, highlight, showcase and promote Irish music, has announced the nominees for this year’s prize. The project was established in 2005 to highlight those albums which deserve some extra time in the spotlight and, ultimately, to select the album which best sums up the year in Irish music. The focus and spotlight is ultimately on the ten annual shortlised artists and their respective albums.

Each year, a panel consisting of 11 media professionals, representing Irish print, radio TV, online and other assembled music professionals select the Choice Music Prize shortlist. This consists of 10 albums released by Irish acts for the very first time in any given calendar year. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Meteor Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music.

The shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2014 is as follows:

ASIWYFA, Bell X1, Girls Names, Kodaline, Little Green Cars, Mano Le Tough, My Bloody Valentine, Lisa O’Neill and Villagers.

The home of music in Northern Ireland. Subscribe to our mailing list to receive new shows every week. Don't miss a show.