02 Dec, Wednesday
9° C

Robyn G Shiels announced as 2014 NI Music Prize winner

RobynGShielsNIMusicPrizeRobyn G Shiels has been announced as winner of 2014 Northern Ireland Music Prize for his album The Blood of the Innocents.

Therapy? performed their 1994 album Troublegum in full after being crowned Oh Yeah Legends 2014,  an award once presented to Terri Hooley and The Undertones, while Robyn G Shiels was finally announced as this year’s winner for his album ‘The Blood of the Innocents’.

There were also performances from shortlisted acts Sullivan & Gold, nominated for their album ‘For Foes’ and More than Conquerors, nominated for ‘Everything I’ve Learnt’ before the eventual winner took the stage to perform himself. Shortly later, he would be taking the main crown on-stage.

The shortlist was as follows:

Alana Henderson – Windfall
Ed Zealous – Wired
Little Matador – Little Matador
Malibu Shark Attack – Malibu Shark Attack
Mojo Fury – The Difference Between
More Than Conquerors – Everything I’ve Learnt
Rams Pocket Radio – Béton
Robyn G Shiels – The Blood Of The Innocents
Slomatics – Estron
Sullivan and Gold – For Foes
VerseChorusVerse – VerseChorusVerse
Wonder Villains – Rocky

Congratulations to all who were long/shortlisted for the award and everyone involved on the night. No doubt there will be many new acts ready to take on 2015.

The home of music in Northern Ireland. Subscribe to our mailing list to receive new shows every week. Don't miss a show.