09 Jul, Thursday
17° C

Brand New Friend announce Seatbelts for Aeroplanes debut album

Northern Irish quartet BRAND NEW FRIEND released a new single ‘Girl’ on Tuesday 6th February.  This is the first track to be taken from their debut album ‘Seatbelts for Aeroplanes’ which comes out on 27thApril 2018 on Xtra Mile Recordings.

The 13 track album was recorded with producer Rocky O’Reilly at the end of 2017 and is a collection of classic catchy pop rock tunes celebrating their youthful exuberance and excitement.   The band will also be heading out on tour with Pretty Vicious in March before slotting in their own dates for later this spring.

The band, who began as a duo with brother and sister Taylor and Lauren Johnson started off playing and writing when Taylor received his first guitar for doing well in his GSCE’s.   After releasing an EP ‘American Wives’ they hooked up with Aaron Milligan (bass) and Luke Harris (drums) and developed a fuller, punchier sound which transformed the gigs they had been playing to much more energetic affairs.  Playing their first Irish tour in January 2017, they soon followed on with shows on the BBC Introducing Stage at Hull (during its City of Culture year), festivals and support slots with local bands.  In the meantime BBC Radio Ulster and Radio 1 were taking note and giving support and the new year kicked off with a sold out show at the Duke of York in Belfast.

The video for ‘Girl’ was shot at the Duke Of York gig and perfectly encapsulates the youthful energy, fun and thrill of a Brand New Friend gig.

On ‘Girl’, Taylor explains: “’Girl’ was written after my little brother and I went for a swim in the sea late one Summer night. We were singing 60’s songs like ‘I Love How You Love Me’ by The Paris Sisters and I loved how beautifully simple the lyrics were, it left a real impression on me. It’s about falling for a girl at school and the innocent, blissful, total devotion that follows.You want to tell the world you love them, write their name into the blue.”

Brand New Friend play at the Black Box, Belfast on 28th April 2018. Pre-order their album here:

The home of music in Northern Ireland. Subscribe to our mailing list to receive new shows every week. Don't miss a show.