30 Nov, Monday
8° C
NI Music Prize 2018

Northern Ireland Music Prize announces shortlist for 2018

The NI Music Prize shortlist for 2018 has been announced. The event, which will take place on November 15th at the iconic Ulster Hall, is now in its 6th year and includes the return of three categories that formed part of the very first NI Music Awards back in 2011.

Over 80 industry and media cast their vote for the best Album of the last twelve months. They were also invited to nominate for Best Live, Best Single and the Oh Yeah Contender Award for best emerging act.

There will be a second round of voting for all but Best Single, which will go to public vote later this week. The winners of all four categories will be announced on November 15th.

Oh Yeah is also pleased to announce that the winners of each category will be awarded a cash prize. Best Single, Best Live Act and Oh Yeah Contender will receive £1,000 and £3,000 will go to the winner of Best Album.

The NI Music Prize is coordinated by the Oh Yeah Music Centre and is supported by Belfast City Council, Arts Council of Northern Ireland, British Council, PRS (Performing Rights Society), PPL (Phonographic Performance Limited), Help Musician’s Northern Ireland, Invest Northern Ireland and Tourism Ireland.

Further details are to be announced in the coming days, but for now, here is the shortlist…..

Album of the Year

  • And So I Watch You From Afar – The Endless Shimmering
  • Ash – Islands
  • Bicep – Bicep
  • Brand New Friend – Seatbelts For Aeroplanes
  • Ciaran Lavery – Sweet Decay
  • Girls Names – Stains on Silence
  • Hannah Peel – Mary Casio: Journey to Cassiopeia
  • Malojian – Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home
  • Robocobra Quartet – Plays Hard To Get
  • Ryan Vail – Distorted Shadows
  • Snow Patrol – Wildness
  • The Wood Burning Savages – Stability

Best Single

  • Arvo Party – Liberté
  • Ash – Buzzkill
  • Brand New Friend – Girl
  • Cherym – Take It Back
  • Hot Cops – Decay
  • Joshua Burnside – A Man of High Renown
  • Kitt Philippa – Human
  • Robocobra Quartet – You’ll Wade
  • ROE – Hey Thomas
  • Rosborough – Burn Blue
  • Snow Patrol – Life on Earth
  • The Wood Burning Savages – I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself

Oh Yeah Contender Award

  • Cherym
  • Hand Models
  • Hunkpapa
  • Rebekah Fitch
  • ROE

Best Live Act

  • And So I Watch You From Afar
  • Brand New Friend
  • Robocobra Quartet
  • Ryan Vail
  • The Wood Burning Savages

Early Bird Tickets available now:

The home of music in Northern Ireland. Subscribe to our mailing list to receive new shows every week. Don't miss a show.